A story I didn’t expect

So I haven’t posted in awhile. If you’re wondering why that would be, it’s most simply because I haven’t had much to say. The world has (as far as I can astronomically tell) continued to spin, and life has gone on. But something happened recently that just made me do a double take.

Lemme tell you a story.

The other night I was playing some Rocket League when I ran into a player (I’ll call Metro) who was, without a doubt, quite angry for some reason. I, for whatever reason, quickly became the object of Metro’s contempt, perhaps due to a goalie mistake I made early on, and it proceeded with a lot of cases of the use of the f-word and calling people “n*gg*rs”. Mainly aimed at me.

In that moment there are two different responses. One, you can respond in kind, becoming subsequently salty and frustrated, which in all reality is an understandable response. The other, much less understandable response is to accept the player’s frustration and try and make peace and show love. God quietly (so quietly I didn’t realize I heard him until later) told me to pick the second.

I really didn’t bear any ill will toward the bloke. I just wanted him to chill. Yo, we’re on the same team. Let’s work together here. He of course wasn’t having any of it. I played two games with him continuing to try and just love the guy, and after we won the second, I tried once more. “Truce? :P” I sent him, letting myself be vulnerable for that moment. “F*** off bantha” was the only response I got. Well alright then.

I played a third game without him, but on the fourth, the matchmaking server by some coincidence put us together again. “Oh hey”, I said in chat, “You again :P”.

Another player who had also been on the wrong side of Metro displayed position One as enumerated before, and was understandably frustrated and angry with Metro..but funnily somewhere along this fourth game, Metro seemed to realize his wrong. “Hey guys, I apologize, I was just really angry for some reason, it happens to me sometimes, and I’m sorry.”

The other victim responded. “I can’t believe that.”

I, glad that perhaps he had finally cooled down, said “Hey, it happens man, I forgive you. :P”

“Hey man, friend me.” came Metro’s response.

We played a couple games together and talked and played well as a team. I told him about me and he told me about him. We talked about random inconsequential things but enjoyed ourselves and had a good time. But at the end of the night, Metro told me, and I quote:

“thanks for everything. You prevented me from blowing my brains out tonight. I appreciate that. Have a good night fam.”

He had been planning on committing suicide that night.

Never. Ever. Ever. Underestimate what just 15 minutes of love could do for someone. Sometimes, that’s all it takes.

How does this at all line up with a squirrel eating a jelly donut you might ask? Good question. It doesn’t. I just thought it looked amusing.

Have a good night.

Leave a Reply

